Tags

, , , , , ,

Learn how the changing geometery of planetary orbits will bring Venus and Jupiter together in the night sky, in this SPACE.com infographic.
Source:LiveScience

This past Tuesday evening, I went outside for a break with a colleague. Gazing at the night sky, I saw a bright star just above the tree line to my right. I knew it wasn’t Jupiter because I had spotted the massive planet time and time again, and not to mention, I knew it was located to my left. (North/South: I don’t know. Left/Right: Now you got me!) I took out my handy SkyView app and found that the star was actually Venus! How excited was I? Venus and Jupiter in the same night!

Well, here’s a great infographic that will help you locate Jupiter and Venus tonight. You’ll be able to see their dance for a couple of months.

Want to see what else the sky has to offer tonight? Check out my “Stargazing:Tonight’s Sky” link at the top of my homepage. Everyday, you’ll get an idea of what to expect in the night sky. It’s fabulous.

